Smith’s Stone Lodge Motel

Standard

pa230183.jpgMy mom and dad usually made a trip to Blackwater Falls about every three or four years.  This was fifty years ago and the trip was on a long winding road and there were no interstates.  Yes, I got car sick everytime!  Daddy would call and get reservations at Smith’s Stone Lodge Motel.  Actually, this was just about the only place to stay.

I wanted to keep the memories alive and Mr. B and I stayed at the same motel with our kids when they were very small.  They still talk about their trip to the mountains and the fun they had at Blackwater Falls.

We visited in this area a few days ago and three of the old motel units are still standing, but are used as private housing.  Seeing the old motel brought back memories of our family having fun and driving over to Deep Creek Lake.  I just wish I could smell my mom’s cooking in the little motel and hear my dad giving out a gut laugh.  All I have are the memories we took time to make years ago and they are precious.

About yellow6347

Memories, thoughts, life, business, God and family are in the circle of my life. I am writing the story of my life from Early Life in a WV Coal Camp in the 40's to the present time. Expressing my thoughts have made me very thankful for today. I hope they touch you.

Leave a Reply

