Thanksgiving 2007

Standard

Smoky Mountains For over fourty-three years of my married life, we had a traditional Thanksgiving at our house. Grandma, Grandpa, aunts, uncles, kids, grandkids and even some unexpected drop in people would eat our feast.   I enjoyed all the work involved and don’t regret any of the time it required.

Mr. B and I decided we would like to go to the Smoky Mountain and invited “baby sister’s” to go along.  Ms. Sharon and Ms. Bev were only 10 years old when we married and they have always been close to us. 

We had so much fun recalling old memories, laughing at everything and remembering all of our blessing.  It seemed like everything was funny and our jaws were aching from all the fun.  This was a good time for everyone.

We had fun waiting in line at the Old Mill for over two hours for the best Thanksgiving dinner in the Smokies.  We walked in the rain, got ideas in craft shops, shopped for Christmas gifts for our grandkids, drove around and looked at all the Christmas lights and laughed even more.

I really enjoyed our Thanksgiving 2007, but I miss the traditional Thanksgiving.  I feel a little guilty of not planting Thanksgiving memories for my children and their children. 

2 responses »

  1. I’m so glad you all had a good time. I never doubted that you would! I hope you can let go of the guilt. Easier said than done, I know. I’m trying to embrace the idea that everything changes and we can be blessed and enjoy the changes. My family loves me and I love them EVERY day of the year. If we are together on holidays that is wonderful, but our relationship is bigger than a few days out of the year. We are all juggling so many things, and trying to create the picture perfect Norman Rockwell painting is far too stressful.

  2. Thanks so much. I am glad you have experienced the old and new ways to celebrate. There is not a day goes by that I don’t know I love my family.

Leave a Reply

