Life in the Coal Camp-I Have a Little Sister

Standard

I was the only grandchild for all grandparents and the only child for seven years.  Well, that was about to change!  My mom looked like she was getting bigger and I began to ask a few questions.  My mom told me that she was going to have a little baby. (no ultra sounds back then).  I thought maybe you could order a boy or a girl and I asked for a little brother.

My mom wanted to stay with her parents at Yawkey, WV when she had the baby.  My sister was born at The Henson Clinic at Hamlin, WV on 8/1.  I remember going to the clinic with my dad to see the new baby and my mommy.  There was this little tiny baby wrapped in a blanket and lying in a tiny crib.  This was my little sister, Beverly Ann.

This was a big adjustment for “the queen” to adjust to another child in the house.  When my mom got home she let me hold Bev and give her a kiss.  I did truly love my sister.

As of 2007, we still have a wonderful sister relationship and I like to make sure she is protected.  Sisters are sisters forever.

About yellow6347

Memories, thoughts, life, business, God and family are in the circle of my life. I am writing the story of my life from Early Life in a WV Coal Camp in the 40's to the present time. Expressing my thoughts have made me very thankful for today. I hope they touch you.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

