Early Life in the Coal Camp-Snow White & the Seven Dwarfs

Standard

snow-white.jpgYou may be thinking that this must have been an awful life and very boring.  Well, it was a good life and adventures every day.  Just think.  There wasn’t such a thing as a television in your house so we had to find other things to do.  Every Saturday morning I would sit in a comfortable chair and listen to “Big John and Little Sparky” on the radio.  They would play a song about….better not go in the woods today….the Teddy Bear’s are having a picnic….and I loved it.  I had a large book titled “Activities for a Rainy Day” and I loved learning to write, print my numbers and play games.  This was my favorite book forever and always.

……but the was something missing in my life.   I had heard about a movie theater, but I had never got to go see a movie.  Well, Punch Edens said she heard a movie called “Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs” was going to be showing at the theater in Ward, WV.  Punch always called me Mindy and she said, “Mindy, would you like to go see a movie”?  I was so excited and could hardly wait.

Ward was only about 3/4 of a mile down the tracks from Mammoth and she said we would just walk.  I was only about 7 and this 3/4 of a mile seemed like a million miles away.  Punch held my hand and down the tracks we went.  

john-derek.jpgWhen we got to the theater…………………Snow White was not showing and I was so sad.  We decided to just stay and watch the other movie with an actor by the name of John Derek.  I don’t remember the title, but I thought John was truly handsome on that big screen. 

My dad was waiting outside in the car to take us home after my first big visit to the movies.  I am so glad Punch took time for a little girl who lived in a coal camp.  She gave me a memory I will never forget.

About yellow6347

Memories, thoughts, life, business, God and family are in the circle of my life. I am writing the story of my life from Early Life in a WV Coal Camp in the 40's to the present time. Expressing my thoughts have made me very thankful for today. I hope they touch you.

3 responses »

  1. Re: “Big John and Little Sparky”

    Did you also open a Pepsi and march around the kitchen table as requested by the MC? Good memories. I had forgotten about the Teddy Bears Picnic.

  2. I don’t remember opening a Pepsi and marching. I would sit very still and listen to every sound on the radio. I was actually a little scared when the Teddy Bear Picnic song played.

    These were wonderful times.

Leave a Reply

