Early Life In WV Coal Camp-Back to Reality

Standard

February 12, 1943 I arrived in this world.  Tonight I celebrated 65 years of life with my remaining family.  No way!  It just can’t be another birthday!  I should only be about 40, but I can’t be.  My son is 40!  Maybe I am just 43.  No way!  My daughter is 43.  Where did the time go and how did I arrive at this age so fast.  I am not really complaining, but life is like a vapor.

Through it all, I have a wonderful life with a completely loving husband and family.  I looked across the table at my little sister (she is 7 yrs. younger than me) and I just want to protect her.  By my left side is Sharon, Basil’s younger sister and we feel the same about her. 

On down the table is Matthew the only grandson and he is so smart, cute and has dimples.  He was busy telling me how Martin Luther King made life better for the black people and how laws had to change.  Lauren is the loving, kind and caring grandchild that wants everyone to be happy.  Then comes Emily, the kid with beautiful lips, won’t take crap from anyone and is all giggles.  Brian and Pam………….. I am so proud they are the parents of these kids and give them examples, good ethics and teach them about God.

The remainder of my family is in IL and we chat on the phone.  Expressions of “Happy Birthday” and “We love you” make my day.  I will glad to have them back and near their family.

My favorite man completes the picture.  Basil and I love each other more now than the day we married.  He has been there every birthday since I was 16 and I hope he is around 16 more.

It is good to be alive and to be thankful for another day.

About yellow6347

Memories, thoughts, life, business, God and family are in the circle of my life. I am writing the story of my life from Early Life in a WV Coal Camp in the 40's to the present time. Expressing my thoughts have made me very thankful for today. I hope they touch you.

Leave a Reply

