Reflections In My Mirror–Right Place–Right Time

Standard

Many of the local churches would combine their services for a week of fellowship.  One night the everyone might go to the Amy Baptist Church and the minister and choir from another church would lead the services.  On this particular night, my church went to the Cobbs Creek Baptist Church and our minister and choir was in charge of the services.

There were lots of young people present and we all sat on several rows near the back.  My friend, Darrell was there and he was sitting with this really cute guy that had a really dark tan.  I noticed his butch hair cut, muscular arms and turquoise trousers, but I had no idea who he was or where he came from.  When I came down out of the choir, I sat in the seat in front of Darrell and this stranger. 

Near the end of the service, Darrell tapped me on the shoulder and said this guy wanted to take me home after church.  I told Darrell I didn’t even know this person.  Darrell continued to tell me that Basil, the stranger was a really good guy and from a wonderful family.  We all discussed the situation and I said I would have to ask my dad if I was okay.  Daddy said it would be okay if James, my uncle and Darrell went with us.  ***Boy, things were different in the fifty’s.

Well, we all piled in Basil’s car and headed to Yawkey and my grandmother’s house.  I was staying with her.  Basil walked me to the door and I introduced him to granny and grandpa.  Granny chatted for a while and she asked Basil if he had ever read the second chapter of Jude.  Of course, he was wanting to make a good impression and he quickly answered YES.  Granny started laughing and asked him if he was sure.  She finally told him there was only one chapter in the Book of Jude.  His face turned red and he said he had better go.

This is not the last you will hear of this guy.  To be continued………………

About yellow6347

Memories, thoughts, life, business, God and family are in the circle of my life. I am writing the story of my life from Early Life in a WV Coal Camp in the 40's to the present time. Expressing my thoughts have made me very thankful for today. I hope they touch you.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

