Reflections in My Mirror-Meeting His Family

Standard

                                                                                              Original Painting by Gen Gillen (my friend)

Back in the late 50’s and early 60’s, people actually had a family dinner on Sunday and just about every night of the week.  Basil finally invited me to go to his house for Sunday dinner and to meet all his family.  I was so nervous.  I only had one sister , but Basil had 8 other brothers or sisters.

His mom always had Sunday Dinner at the dining room table and today was no exception.  The white linen table cloth was on the table, her best china and chairs for many, many people.  I had never seen so many people at a family dinner.  MawMaw had prepared her famous rump roast, mashed potatoes, green beans, corn, rolls and several desserts.  I learned later that this was prepared every Sunday.

All the brothers and sisters who lived near where there with all their children.  The children had a special table in the kitchen.  The men usually ate first and then the women.  However, they told me to eat with Basil since we were dating.

Everyone in his family was so nice and happy.  Actually 50 years later….they are still the same.  I couldn’t have met a better family anywhere. 

All the men headed to the porch or to play ball after dinner.  You guessed it.  All the women went to the kitchen to wash dishes.  His sisters told he I didn’t have to wash dishes, but if we ever married I had to help. 

It felt like everyone was talking at the same time and my ears were roaring.  Aunt Doris (whom I love) could always talk longer and louder than everyone.  I felt like I had known these people forever.

It was time for me to go home now.  We hopped in Basil’s car for the drive back to Lincoln County.  It was so quite when I got home.  I missed all the noise, laughter and talking I had experienced today.

Leave a Reply

