Reflections in My Mirror-Then and Now

Standard

I am looking back.  I am looking forward and all around.  Looking, thinking and wondering.  I wonder if I knew then what I know now…..how would my life be different?  I can see in 2008 that many choices made in the past 40 to 50 years have made an impact on my life in 2008.  Choices that made my life wonderful and are still giving me joy.  Some choices have given me heartache and pain.

I don’t regret making the decision to accept Christ as My Savior at age 16.  That decision I would not change.  I have had a battery pack inside me that has never failed, ….but does need to be recharged once in a while.  I am happy with this decision.

I am finding that our lifestyle decisions for 40 years makes an impact that you don’t really see coming around the bend.  My MRI this morning reveals extensive arthritis in my right back knee and a shot of cortisone is supposed to help.  Decision not made to exercise and diet during a lifetime make essential parts play out.  If I knew then what I know now would I have made better choices?

How many people would I have avoided in my lifetime….if I knew then what I know now?  How many times would I not have been hurt with deceit and evil….if I knew then what I know now?  Looking back and looking forward makes us think and ask ourselves questions. 

I didn’t know then what I know now.  I had the opportunity in my lifetime to go through very trying times and come out of it really knowing life is not always fair, but joy comes to those who wait.  If I knew then what I know now….would I have used my faith as much?

If I knew then what I know now…would I have made immediate choice to avoid disaster down the road?  Or, would I have procrastinated and wait a year, or five years or 50 years to make a better choice?

I suppose we could beat ourselves to death with the “what if’s”, but life is what it is and I have to “get my big girl panties on and deal with it”.  I am really glad I didn’t know then what I know now.

Leave a Reply

