Let’s Rock Around the Clock!!!

Standard

We are now home from the hospital and ready to be the best parents in the world.  We think we are very able to be a parent, feed a baby and get some sleep every night.  Oh, boy are we in for a surprise.  Our life has just changed forever.

Bottle feeding was really the way to go back in the 60’s…so we bottle fed.  All the bottles and equipment had to be sterilized, formula mixed for the day and you would do the same thing the next day.  Teresa was supposed to be on a four hour schedule, but she didn’t really know it.  She was hungry in three hours and I would be flexible and feed about every three and half hours.

They call it reflux now, but it was colic in the 60’s.  Doctor’s didn’t really prescribe the gas drops or reflux meds and they may not have even been invented.  A baby with the colic cries a lot and there is little you can do to help.  Basil and I would take turns holding and rocking, in hopes of giving the comfort the baby needed.  Dr. Shawkey tried a different formula, but it didn’t help much.  Poor baby!!  This went on for two months and MawMaw Woodrum solved the problem.  She babysat one day and she gave Teresa regular homogenized milk instead of the soy formula and WALA Wala Bang Bang….it worked.  Teresa took her bottle, went down for a nap and slept for several hours.  No crying!!!  We tried this through several more feedings and NO CRYING.  I finally called Dr. Shawkey to tell him what we did and was afraid he would get angry.  He said, “Well, I wouldn’t have switched her this soon, but it is working”. 

We all began to get some good zzzzzz’s once the colic settled down.  I loved holding this beautiful gift from God and rocking her to sleep.  Rocking took up some of my time, but I have wonderful memories.  I would rub her little black curly hair as she drifted off to sleep.  I would sometimes let her little fingers hold my index finger and feel the grip of those tiny pink fingers.  She would suck on her “binky” with sweet slobbers running down her mouth.  I would lift her to my lips and plant a love kiss on her warm tiny cheeks.  I never know I could love anything as much as I loved you.

About yellow6347

Memories, thoughts, life, business, God and family are in the circle of my life. I am writing the story of my life from Early Life in a WV Coal Camp in the 40's to the present time. Expressing my thoughts have made me very thankful for today. I hope they touch you.

One response »

Leave a Reply

