Thanksgiving in West Virginia

Standard

It is 2008 and I am living in the present and reflecting back over the years.  I can’t remember a time in my life that we didn’t celebrate Thanksgiving with all our family around the dinner table.  Reflections take me back to my Granny Woodrum preparing a Thanksgiving dinner with all the trimmings.  The smell of the turkey would drift through the house and make your mouth water.  Homemade pumpkin pies, hot rolls, turkey dressing and most of all family were the highlights of the day.

As time went by, I began to be the “designated cook” for the holiday meals and would invite all the parents, siblings and grandparents to my house.  I tried to set the same traditions that I had experienced through out my life.  I had learned by example, how to make the traditional dishes for these meals.

It is Thanksgiving 2008 and only the memories of the parents and grandparents remain, but I love all the loving thoughts that have been implanted in me.  My mom would have wanted cranberry relish and that will be on my table today.  Somehow, this helps me remember her although she has been gone six years.  Daddy would have said, “Pass the gravy” and laughed.  There is gravy on my table. 

My guests will be husband, sister, sister-in-law, son, daughter-in-law and those great grandchildren.  I love having all these people in my house with their feet under my table.  I am glad those before me showed me how to love the holiday’s and appreciate your family.  Most of all, I am glad for my Christian heritage and being taught that God is to be praised and thanked for all our blessing. 

This world is in a terrible mess.  The economy is falling apart, families are in crisis, the terrorist have just killed more innocent people, children are starving, people don’t have a coat or shoes, some look for food daily and the list goes on and on.  You see, if we have food to eat and a place to sleep we are blessed. 

From my house to yours………Happy Thanksgiving from West Virginia!!

Leave a Reply

