Cornstarch & Memories

Standard

I can still remember the day I made homemade Christmas ornaments with my children.  We didn’t know it at the time, but we were making memories for us to remember 45 years later.  I still have the instructions here in my old cookbook.  The Scotch tape is dried and brown from being stuck in this book long, long ago, but I remember the day.

CREATIVE CLAY

Creative clay made with ARGO Corn Starch can be easily shaped, then left to harden and dry.  Perfect for many uses….from making creative jewelry and ornaments to play clay for children.  It’s easy and inexpensive to make.  (this is probably why I chose this project)

In a saucepan, stir thoroughly 1 cup ARGO Corn Starch and 2 cups ( 1 lb. package) baking soda.  Mix in 1 1/4 cups cold water.  Heat, stirring constantly, until mixture reaches a slightly moist, mashed potato consistency.  Turn out on plate and cover with damp cloth.  When cool enough to handle, knead like dough.  Shape as desired, or store tightly covered for later use.

To shape creative clay, form with hands or roll out to 1/4 inch thickness and cut with knife or cookie cutter.  If desired, trim with bits of clay, moistened and pressed in place.  Pierce a hole near edge for stringing a pendant or ornaments.  Let dry on protected surface.  Creative clay can be painted when dry with water colors, poster paints or felt-tip pens.  Brush on clear nail polish or shellac for a protective coating and shine if desired.

We made these ornaments when the kids were very small and they graced our Christmas tree throughout their teen years.  We moved to Huntington, WV in the 1982 and the ornaments were stored in our basement (which was moist) and needless to say I cried when I opened the box.  All the beautiful ornaments had fallen apart, but I still have the memories.

Make memories with your kids…now.

One response »

  1. I love this!! I remember making an ornament using something very similar (could have been the same thing) in grade school.
    I want to make these with my kids too!

Leave a Reply

