A Psalm for Going to Market

Standard

I was looking through some old cook books this morning and came across one that I made for a church were my husband was pastor over 35 years ago.   This seems to fit right in with all of us shopping for Christmas dinners, watching our dollars at the super market and the hustle and bustle of it all.

I will rejoice in the Lord as I set off to market with my children.  I will give thanks unto the Lord for this good bright day.

I will praise Him for this car at my disposal, the miracle of it’s body and it’s wheels and it’s engine and even my ability to drive it.  For I am but one of a horde of women who propel ourselves about the earth on errands and duties and jaunts of pleasure, in a manner that would be envied by the riches of chariot-ed kings.

I will lift up my eyes to the beauty of the roadside in the morning, to the parks and playgrounds, the schools and stores, to the houses large and small, all so marvelously equipped with devices and comforts for living.

I will open my eyes to the beauty of traffic lights, their glowing Christmas tree colors of scarlet and green.  I will see the loveliness of the sunlit parking lot and of mothers hastening to market, alone or with children trailing.

I will give thanks for the privilege of pushing a cart along the aisles, one child in the basket and another hitching rides.  I will try not to lose patience, try not to scold.  I will be grateful for the friends who pause to chat and for the people who smile upon our little caravan.

I will rejoice and give thanks for the spaciousness and bounty of this place.  For all the fragrant, gaily colored foods and products for my home.  I will ask for the judgment to choose wisely.

I will rejoice and give thanks to my God who has provided the beauty and abundance of this my land, this my neighborhood and this my hour of marketing.

…Marjorie Holmes

One response »

Leave a Reply

