Each Day Is New-County Supper

Standard

No, I didn’t say dinner.  We had a country supper this evening and it was yummy.  When I lived in Lincoln county it was always called supper during the week and dinner on Sunday.    So much for that!!

I didn’t have a clue what I was cooking this evening, but it all just fell together.  I needed something fast and easy.  Here goes….  I made salmon cakes, sweet peas, mashed potatoes and homemade cornbread.  Simple and tasty. 

This is how I make my salmon cakes.

1 can of pink salmon

1 egg

bread crumbs (I buy a can of seasoned bread crumbs)

Open the can of salmon and drain the liquid.  The salmon has been cooked and packed in the can.  Empty the whole can in a bowl.  You don’t have to remove the bones and skin.  Just take a wooden spoon and mash the salmon until all broken apart.  Add the egg and stir well.  Add enough of the bread crumbs to make the salmon stick together so you can make it into patties.  You can usually get about seven patties from one can.

Add corn oil to your skillet and let it get hot.  Add the salmon patties to the pan and brown well on each side. 

Cornbread:

Sometimes I buy Teays Valley Cornbread Mix or Martha White Self Rising Cornbread Mix.  The secret to any good cornbread is using buttermilk instead of regular milk.  And of course, you have to bake it in an iron skillet. 

You may not be one bit interested in what I had for “supper”, but I enjoyed telling you about it.

What is your favorite county meal?

2 responses »

  1. I love country eating! Cornbread with honey is one of my all time favorite things to eat!

    Let’s see…country meals…
    I like soup beans and cornbread, and country ham (extra salt please!), mashed potatoes, gravy….

    I also like biscuits and anything, but esp sausage gravy or honey. I like fresh sausage or bacon. I also like eggs with morel mushrooms and fresh garlic. That’s hard to beat and in season now!

Leave a Reply

