Each Day Is New-

Standard

 Hudson FamilyWe have been going through an old trunk and sorting out some family pictures.  The old trunk is full of pictures of those we loved and adored.  Basil and I would pull out some pictures and remember the event or laugh at the fashions. 

I found this picture of my husbands family.  This is the Clinton D. Hudson and Eufa Hudson family of South Charleston, WV.  (left to right children) David, Paul, Ester, Naomi on dad’s lap, Basil on mom’s lap, Annabelle standing and Carter.  A few years later Rachel and Sharon would be added to this family.

This family lived on the Middle Fork of Davis Creek most of their lives.  Paw-Paw Hudson worked at Carbide Chemicals and spent long hours to provide for his family.  Of course, Maw-maw was a stay at home mom until later in her life. 

I wonder how people were able to take care of laundry for such big families.  Most everyone at that time washed clothes by hand or by a wringer washer.   Many country people even had to carry their wash water…..and we think we have it hard.  Can you imagine feeding nine children?

The Hudson family in general were always noted for their musical and singing abilities.  Even to this day, many of these children are play the piano, lead the church choir and sing solo and in groups. 

I married Basil 48 years ago and I became a member of a wonderful family.  I am glad that his parents were Christian examples and taught him to love God. 

I wonder if anyone will find an old picture of us in 30 years and laugh at our silly fashions?  Will our current mode of living not be understood by our grandchildren?  Oh no, what if all our pictures are on a disk and so outdated that non of the new tech can open them?  I had better go to CVS tomorrow and have all the pictures on the disks printed.

One response »

  1. I love old photos. I don’t even have to know the people in them. I imagine who they are and what their lives were like and what became of them.

    In terms of laundry, I think people didn’t have as many clothes as we do now. I’ve noticed how small closets are in older homes. What I do think about is my Granny McKee who had two sets of twins back to back — all those diapers and nursing two at a time and no running water. And never complained. I would complain, I’m sure of it!

Leave a Reply

