Each Day Is New- WV..My Home Sweet Home

Standard

I can’t compare living in WV to another state.  I was born in WV and I have lived here all my life.  My ancestors before me chose rural Lincoln County and my legacy began.

My mother’s maiden name was McClure and our ancestors originated from Ireland.  The first McClure in our line was Richard McClure and he arrived in Culpeper, VA in 1700.  Other McClure’s in the clan soon arrived in Culpeper and headed out to claim their own farms.  These people were wild, brave and adventuresome.

It just blows my mind to realize that the McClure clan traveled by wagon (there were no car’s and few roads) from Culpeper to Yawkey, WV.  This is a long trip, even by car. 

Over a hundred or more years later their legacy lives on in the families that still lives, works and plays in WV.  We have kept our roots in a state of which we are proud.  Yes, we are unique.  We talk different than someone from Illinois, but we shouldn’t apologize.  Our speech is who we are and from where we live.  As West Virginian’s, we have built our homes here, spent our lives in the workforce, established our places of worship and voted for the political figures that lead the state. 

Stand up and be counted as a proud West Virginian.  Pass on your heritage and the great stories of our ancestors to your children and grandchildren.  Pull out those old family pictures and tell the children how their ancestors arrived in West Virginia and how they survived hard times. 

My Home Sweet Home

One response »

  1. Pingback: WEB | West Virginia, As Bloggers See It « The Way I See It

Leave a Reply

