Each Day Is New-“I Can’t Find My Sunglasses”

Standard

I sometimes spend a lot of time looking for “things”.  Recently it has been my prescription sunglasses that are on “The Most Wanted”  list.  I have plain old sunglasses, but I need…my…prescription….glasses. 

I began searching in the most obvious places.  I went to the closet and went through at least twenty handbags and I found stale lifesavers, pens that won’t write, loose change, out of date coupons, but no sunglasses.  Okay, they must be in the beach bag.  Beach bag searched and no luck.  I savaged through dresser drawers, kitchen drawers and sunroom and I just can’t find them.

By now, I don’t think I am the person that lost my…prescription….sunglasses.  It must be Basil, my wonderful husband.  He is always cleaning out things while I am at the office and he probably trashed them.  I am getting more convinced I can’t find what is precious to me because of someone else being irresponsible.

Weeks have now gone by and we are getting more sunshine and beach weather is near.  I know by now, I will just have to make an appointment for an eye exam and purchase NEW….prescription…..sunglasses. 

That sweet man of mine has been busy all morning cleaning out my car.  He is always doing something nice, but I have to double-check the garbage because he will just toss good things.  He just pecked on the family room door and he was holding in his hand MY….PRESCRIPTION….SUNGLASSES.  I swallowed sort of hard and said, “Where did you find them”?  He said they were in your car console down under some junk and Christmas CD’s. 

He  handed them to me and just smiled. 

Loosing what is precious because of all the things that are not precious.  What is precious in our lives sometimes gets covered up by all the “stuff” in our lives and we miss golden moments that will never return.  Are all the hours spent working robbing you of the precious time you have with your family?  Do you have so much “stuff” that you don’t have time for just a few hours of worship time with God?  Don’t be like me and blame someone else for your precious things becoming missing items.  Most usually the most precious things in your life are right where you left them.

Simple events can be life lessons.

Leave a Reply

