Each Day Is New- The Lady In Red

Standard

My aunt Marcella passed away a couple of days ago.  We visited the funeral home today and paid our honor to she and her family.  As I neared the coffin I could see her wishes had been carried out.  My 88-year-old aunt always loved the color red and wore it all the time.  Today was no exception.  Marcella had beautiful red flowers on her casket and she was dressed in a red suit and red loop earrings.

I spent many summers visiting with Marcella’s family.  Her daughter, Joyce and I would spend the day playing in the town of St. Albans.  Aunt Marcella was a professional seamstress and she could make anything.  Joyce always had the most beautiful doll cloths and I sort of felt a little jealous.  Her mom would have left over material and it would turn into a doll dress, doll coats and hats.

Marcella was my mother’s oldest sister and they were very close.  Marcella and Joyce would come and stay a week with us when we lived in a coal camp in Mammoth, WV. One day Joyce and I decided to play beauty shop.  I was about six and Joyce was five….when we became beauticians.  I was bossy even then.  I talked Joyce into letting me cut her hair and assured her I would be careful.  I decided she needed it cut SHORT.  Clip, clip, snip all on one side of her head and then….OUR MOTHER’S CAME OUT ON THE PORCH where I was cutting.  I thought they were going to faint and we were two scared little girls.

Through the years Marcella’s signature color was always red.  I wonder if the Red Hat Society got their idea from her?

I will always cherish my childhood memories at Aunt Marcella’s house.  She had a parakeet that laid eggs, a bathtub on claw feet, a wardrobe with lots of hats, a really fast sewing machine, crisp bacon and lots of patience to tolerate two giggling little girls.  We would always attend Grace Baptist Temple on Sunday and come home to a Sunday Dinner.

The Lady in Red had lived her many years and brought joy to others.  God called her home and I believe she may even get a red robe in heaven.

Leave a Reply

