Each Day Is New- Memorial Day

Standard

There will be many different events going on in towns across the United States this week-end.  Small towns will fill the streets with an American spirit and the bands will march in the parades.  The BBQ grills will be heated and hundreds of hotdogs will be consumed.  The red, white and blue American flag will be displayed and families will place flowers on the graves of their loved ones.

How do you celebrate Memorial Day and what does it mean to you?  Please post your comments.

One response »

  1. Like most people, I celebrate Memorial Day by gathering with family members at a picnic. I’m lucky that my Uncle Vaughn is still with us & he’s a World War II vet with service in the Aleutians. In the last 10 years, I’ve lost 2 World War II veteran grandfathers, both in their 90’s when they passed. My father died young at 58 and he had retired from the US Navy 21 years before. I also consider my late mother as a “military hero” since she packed up & moved wherever Dad was stationed, unless he was at sea, with up to 6 children. Sometimes, Dad was on cruises lasting more than 9 or 10 months at a time, with no email or Skype to keep in touch! I also like to remember the 3 Civil War members of my family, all from West Virginia. They came from families divided by the issues of the Civil War, with some signing up for the Confederacy and others for the Union. Those scars lasted for decades. In more modern times, I was once a Navy wife for 4 years and more fully understood my mother’s experiences. I also have 2 nephews and a cousin who are in the active military and have travelled to the Middle East. I’m lucky that they all returned OK. My friend’s son lost both legs and part of an arm in 2006. She was greatly helped by the Wounded Warriors Project and her son has returned to work (for the government), married, and has a child. During Memorial Day, I hope everyone takes a minute to remember those who keep freedom alive right down to today and pray for the safety of those troops still in harm’s way.

Leave a Reply

