Each Day Is New- July in West Virginia

Standard

Basil and I had lunch under the big oak trees in our front yard today.  I have a picnic table in the back yard and a lovely table and chairs on the deck, but something was calling for the yard.  We have two gravity reclining lawn chairs and this was a nice place to relax.

I could see our American Flag flapping in the breeze of this July day.  I couldn’t keep from thinking of all the people who have helped keep us FREE and it is an honor to see Old Glory.  My grandpa, Pearl Lucas Woodrum-WW I and my dad, Donald Edward Woodrum-WW 2 were only two of thousands who are American heros.

I closed by eyes and the coolest July breeze brushed across my skin and I almost felt like I was on the beach.  I sneaked and opened my eyes and I was still in WV…oak trees and all.  I again closed by eyes and I could hear many birds giving out their calls, bugs clicking in the trees and the smell of smoke in the distance.  Just listen…..Just listen…….The branches hanging from my oak trees were dancing with the breeze and actually keeping rhythm.

Ouch!!!  I felt something sting my hand.  It was something I hadn’t seen all summer.  A sweat bee.  Sweat bee’s are tiny, tiny little bee’s that only sting lazy people (or so my mom always said).  Well, I was being lazy today.

I am anticipating all the 4th of July events in a few days, but today was priceless.  I shared a tuna sandwich with the man I love for time and eternity, the breeze was cooling us and God’s creation was tapping on my shoulder.  Sometime we just need to slow down and look around us.

“Be still and know I am God”.

Leave a Reply

