Each Day Is New-Fearing the Unknown

Standard

 

I am a make a list person and need to check it twice.  Before starting a trip all reservations must be made and confirmed or I get frantic.  Well, my adventuresome husband is helping me overcome my fear of traveling without confirmations.

Of course, being a minister he just said we will pray about it and all will be fine.  My faith was not quite so strong on this issue, but I remembered there is a verse about being “submissive” to your husband.  Now why in the world would I suddenly remember this verse?  I thought I would try it.

peaks of otter lodgeBasil was so protective of my fear of not knowing where we would stay each night.  He started looking for available lodging around 4pm.  The first night we stayed on the northern end of the Blue Ridge Parkway at VA Peaks of Otter Lodge (Mile Post 86). I probably would never have ordered this online, but I actually liked the room.  Everything was quite rustic.  The furniture was made out of sort of rough lumber and painted in brown tones.  We had no phone, no internet and no TV…..but we talked to each other. 

This is a “by the way” comment on room rates.  The traveler is really paying their share of taxes.  Room Charge ($107.10) State Tax ($5.36) Local Tax ($5.35) Virginia Tax ($13.09). 

Why are we so conformed to our personal traditions?  Why don’t we just let go and experience the freedom around us?  Why are we afraid to be submissive to those who love us most?

We ate in the lodge by a window that overlooked a huge lake.  We could see the fish jumping up for their dinner, watch traveler walk around the lake and pause to thank God for our food and his blessings on us.  All of this, by just by being submissive and facing my fears. 

 I think I like it.

2 responses »

  1. We still stick to our tradition when we travel, and I guess we like to stay within our comfort zone since the lack of time is the issue most of the times. I would love to travel cross country and heading out to the west coast.

  2. I usually travel alone (by car) so not having a plan is pretty scary for me. But I’d love to try it when I have a friend travel with me. It sounds like fun!

Leave a Reply

